What is the CVRT?

What is the Commercial Vehicle Roadworthiness Test?

The Commercial Vehicle Roadworthiness Test (CVRT) is a roadworthiness test for all commercial vehicles, buses with more than eight passenger seats and ambulances, all over one year old. The purpose of the test is to ensure that these vehicles are in good condition throughout its entire life.

All commercial vehicles must be tested when they are over one year old and annually after that.

There are two types of commercial vehicle tests, one for Light Commercial Vehicles (LCVs) and one for Heavy Commercial Vehicles (HCVs).

The LGV test is for:

  • all small goods vehicles with a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 3,500 kg or less

Book your LGV test online

The HGV test covers all other commercial vehicles including:

  • goods vehicles over 3,500 kg GVW
  • goods trailers over 3,500 kg GVW
  • buses with more than eight passenger seats
  • ambulances

Book your HGV test online

What test examines

The CVRT test includes:

  • Brakes
  • Lights and markings
  • Wheels and tyres
  • Steering and suspension
  • Chassis and underbody
  • Tachograph
  • Speed limiter
  • Exhaust emissions
  • Electrical systems
  • Glass and mirrors


The cost of the Commercial vehicle roadworthiness test varies according to vehicle size.

See Commercial Vehicle testing fees.


All retests must be completed within 21 calendar days and within 4,000 kms of the initial test or you'll need to repeat the full test. A visual re-test is free, but a retest that requires a test lane has a fee that is half of the normal test fee. You should repair vehicle fail items immediately and present the vehicle for re-test as soon as possible.

What is the difference between CVRT , DoE, VTN ?

The actual test is now called a Commercial Vehicle Roadworthiness Test (CVRT) but is still commonly referred to as a DoE (Department of Environment) Test.

The reason for this is that the Department of Environment originally introduced commercial vehicle testing . They have not been involved in its regulation for a number of years.

The network of commercial vehicle testing centres where you have your commercial vehicle tested are called Commercial Vehicle Roadworthiness Test Operators previously known as Vehicle Testing Network (VTN).

This is a network of independently owned test centres currently licensed by the Local Authority in the area and are completely separate from the National Car Testing Service (NCT) network which only test cars.